Conformité

Conformité

Règles : Résistance et exécution

Ce mois-ci, Paul examine certains cas récents très publics où le changement a été imposé et certains cas où la conformité a été refusée. Paul tire des enseignements clés que chaque leader responsable de la réalisation du changement doit comprendre. 

Lire la suite "
Conformité

Un problème de comportement

Ce mois-ci, Paul commence par une histoire de l'autre côté de la médaille, la non-conformité et les pratiques dangereuses. Il examine les avantages et les risques de prendre des raccourcis. Certes, il y a des récompenses et des conséquences, à la fois bonnes et mauvaises, pour chaque comportement. Paul les éclaire afin de vous aider à renvoyer les gens vivants et sains chez eux à la fin de la journée.

Lire la suite "
Conformité

La responsabilité individuelle

Ce mois-ci, Paul parle d'être tenu responsable. Il explore les idées fausses courantes sur la responsabilité et ce que cela signifie pour vous de faire votre travail. Il examine un article récent sur un PDG en dessous. Il fournit une meilleure compréhension de la responsabilité et nous laisse avec de très bons conseils.

Lire la suite "
Conformité

Changer les habitudes

Ce mois-ci, Paul explore ses habitudes. Non seulement les changements que nous avons chacun apportés en réponse à COVID 19, mais surtout la nature et la valeur des habitudes liées au retour à la maison des personnes vivantes et bien en fin de journée. Il étudie les habitudes qui s'appliquent à la gestion des risques et à la conformité et nous laisse quelques bons conseils.

Lire la suite "
Conformité

Deepwater Horizon: Leçon apprise?

Ce mois-ci, Paul, avec l'aide d'Erick Reyna, l'un de nos consultants enseignants, remonte 10 ans en arrière pour examiner les leçons à tirer des événements de Macondo Deepwater Horizon du 20 avril 2010. Il partage cinq leçons importantes qui sont toujours importantes aujourd'hui. Quelques bons conseils.

Lire la suite "
Conformité

Nation Earbud

Ce mois-ci, Paul examine les leçons tirées d'un accident de la route, où des écouteurs étaient impliqués. La discussion est essentielle pour comprendre les dangers et les risques à la fois personnellement et pour ceux avec qui vous travaillez. C'est peut-être le bulletin le plus important que Paul ait écrit et il en a écrit beaucoup de bons.

Lire la suite "
Conformité

Factoring In The Human

Imaginez votre malaise momentané lorsque vous commencez à lire… US Airways 1549. Vous savez immédiatement de quoi il s'agit et vous avez une assez bonne idée que le capitaine Sully a quelque chose à voir avec cela. Ce mois-ci, Paul examine le facteur humain lorsque les choses tournent mal la nuit… ou la rivière Hudson.

Lire la suite "
Conformité

Clickit - Ou quoi?

Dans le bulletin Managing Safety Performance News de ce mois-ci, Paul partage l'expérience de 1 des 7,7 milliards de dollars. Une personne qui a eu un impact sur 139 autres passagers lors d'un des récents voyages de Paul. Cela fit réfléchir Paul. J'ai demandé à Paul s'il était sûr de lancer une histoire «go» et il a répondu: «Cette histoire est remplie de choses à observer et à apprendre. Tout ce que vous avez à faire est de regarder et de faire attention. » Il s'avère que le message de Paul ne concerne pas vraiment «l'aller», mais des leçons critiques sur la conformité pour renvoyer les gens à la maison vivants et bien à la fin de la journée et qu'il ne nécessite pas d'assainisseur d'air.

Lire la suite "
Conformité

Pratique courante

Dans le Managing Safety Performance News de ce mois-ci, Paul commence par une enquête sur un décès, bien sûr, il y a beaucoup à apprendre pour obtenir des résultats d'enquête significatifs, mais ne vous arrêtez pas là, il s'agit vraiment de naviguer sur un très gros navire, dans un canal très étroit , avec beaucoup de courants croisés et d'autres types de trafic - changeant de direction. En fin de compte, il s'agit d'obtenir d'excellentes performances de sécurité. Ils disent qu'il n'y a pas de solution miracle pour obtenir d'excellents résultats de sécurité, c'est vrai, mais il y a quelques éléments fondamentaux qui font la différence. Paul les révèle ce mois-ci. Je serai intéressé d'entendre ce que vous pensez après avoir terminé la «pratique courante».

Lire la suite "
Conformité

Sur la route une fois de plus

Dans le bulletin intitulé Managing Safety Performance News de ce mois-ci, dans un restaurant en Sibérie, Paul examine les différences et les similitudes des défis auxquels les superviseurs et les gestionnaires sont confrontés pour amener les gens à travailler en toute sécurité dans le monde entier, y compris un défi très important.

Lire la suite "

Sujets populaires

Articles populaires

Les choses ont mal tourné

Ce mois-ci, Paul examine ce qui s'est passé sur le tournage du Bonanza Creek Ranch à Santa Fe, au Nouveau-Mexique. Il trouve plusieurs leçons très importantes à appliquer là où nous travaillons lorsque les choses se passent différemment du cours prévu ou attendu.

Lire la suite "

Prêter attention

Dans cette édition, Paul discute de deux endroits importants pour rechercher des dangers, ainsi qu'un incident pour illustrer ce point. Vous pourriez être surpris par la connexion.

Lire la suite "

Règles : Résistance et exécution

Ce mois-ci, Paul examine certains cas récents très publics où le changement a été imposé et certains cas où la conformité a été refusée. Paul tire des enseignements clés que chaque leader responsable de la réalisation du changement doit comprendre. 

Lire la suite "

Concernant l'exécution

Lorsqu'il s'agit d'appliquer les règles, la plupart des dirigeants n'aiment pas obliger les gens à suivre les règles.

Alors, et si nous appuyions simplement sur le bouton facile, faisant du respect des règles de sécurité une option plutôt qu'une exigence ?

Lire la suite "

Le visage de l'entreprise

Ce mois-ci, Paul explique pourquoi il est essentiel d'inverser la pyramide organisationnelle pour comprendre qui est le membre le plus important de la direction lorsqu'il s'agit de faire avancer les choses et de renvoyer les gens chez eux vivants et en bonne santé à la fin de la journée.

Lire la suite "

Comparer les dangers

Ce mois-ci, Paul examine comment nous percevons le risque relatif de dangers, ainsi que le processus que nous utilisons pour déterminer ceux qui nécessitent le plus d'attention.

Lire la suite "

Votre héritage

Ce mois-ci, Paul demande « Qu'aimeriez-vous que votre héritage soit ? » Vous pourriez être tenté de penser qu'il ne s'agit que de conseils de vie et que cela n'a pas grand-chose à voir avec ce que vous faites au travail. Vous auriez tort. Paul porte l'héritage de l'un des grands leaders qu'il a rencontrés au cours de sa carrière et qui a laissé une impression durable sur Paul. Les leçons sont importantes si vous voulez faire une différence en renvoyant les gens chez eux sains et saufs à la fin de chaque journée.

Lire la suite "

Dire quelque chose

C'est une règle que tous ceux qui ont déjà appris à changer un pneu la connaissent bien : avant de soulever un véhicule, garez-le et serrez le frein de stationnement. Pour faire bonne mesure, calez les roues…

Lire la suite "

Concernant la confiance

Ce mois-ci, Paul dissèque trois événements similaires pour examiner la question de la confiance. Vous pourriez être surpris de la façon dont il relie tout cela. Il nous fournit des pensées très importantes que nous devons tous comprendre.

Lire la suite "

Confiance

Il y a quelques semaines, un condo résidentiel s'est effondré, de manière catastrophique et tragique, mais absolument pas de manière inattendue. Si vous avez suivi l'histoire, vous savez qu'il y a eu plein d'avertissements...

Lire la suite "
fr_FRFrench
Retour haut de page

Compliance

Compliance

Applying Root Cause Failure Analysis to Safety

In this month’s Managing Safety Performance News Bill is back to dive deeper into improving safety performance this time through the lens of Root Cause Failure Analysis. In this new article, he focuses on applying the tools and concepts of RCFA on the challenge of rule compliance, or if you prefer, the challenge of rule non-compliance. Bill admits it took him a long time to learn some important lessons. He shares them with you here, so you don’t have to learn the hard way.

Read More »
Compliance

Rules: Resistance and Enforcement

This month Paul looks at some recent very public cases where change was mandated and some cases where compliance has been resisted.  Paul draws out some key learnings that every leader responsible for making change happen needs to understand. 

Read More »
Compliance

A Behavior Problem

This month Paul begins with a story from the other side of the coin, noncompliance and unsafe practices. He examines the rewards and risks of taking shortcuts. Certainly, there are rewards and consequences, both good and bad, for every behavior. Paul sheds light on them in order to help you send people home alive and well at the end of the day.

Read More »
Compliance

Individual Accountability

This month Paul talks about being held accountable. He explores common misconceptions about accountability and what it means to you doing your job. He examines a recent headline story about a CEO downunder. He provides a better understanding of accountability and leaves us with some Darn Good Advice.

Read More »
Compliance

Changing Habits

This month Paul explores habits. Not just the changes we each have made in response to COVID 19 but more importantly the nature and value of habits related to sending people home alive and well at the end of the day. He investigates habits as they apply to managing risk and gaining compliance and leaves us with some Darn Good Advice.

Read More »
Compliance

Deepwater Horizon: Lesson Learned?

This month Paul, with the help of Erick Reyna one of our teacher consultants, goes back 10 years to examine the lessons to still be learned from the Macondo Deepwater Horizon events of April 20th 2010. He shares five important lessons that are still important today. Some Darn Good Advice.

Read More »
Compliance

Earbud Nation

This month Paul examines lessons learned from a highway construction fatality where earbuds were involved. The discussion is central to understanding hazards and risk both personally and for those you work with. This may be the most important newsletter that Paul has written and he has written a lot of good ones.

Read More »
Compliance

Factoring In The Human

Imagine your momentary queasiness as you start reading…US Airways 1549. You immediately know what that is about and have a pretty good idea Captain Sully has something to do with it. This month Paul examines the human factor when things go bump in the night…or the Hudson River.

Read More »
Compliance

Clickit – Or What?

In this month’s Managing Safety Performance News, Paul shares the experience of 1 of the 7.7 billion. A person who had an impact on 139 fellow passengers during one of Paul’s recent trips. It got Paul thinking. I asked Paul if he was sure about running a “go” story and he said, “This story is one filled with things to be observed and learned. All you have to do is to look and pay attention.” Turns out Paul’s message is not really about “the go”, but critical lessons about compliance for sending people home alive and well at the end of the day and it does not require air freshener.

Read More »
Compliance

Common Practice

In this month’s Managing Safety Performance News, Paul starts with an investigation into a fatality, sure there’s a lot to learn about getting meaningful investigation findings, but don’t stop there this is really about navigating a very large ship, in a very narrow channel, with lots of cross current and other traffic — changing direction. In the end it is about getting great safety performance. They say there is no silver bullet for getting great safety results, that may be true, but there are a few key fundamental things that are the difference that make the difference. Paul reveals them this month. I’ll be interested to hear what you think after you finish “Common Practice”.

Read More »

Popular Topics

Popular Articles

Seeking Understanding

This month Newton Scavone, one of our senior teacher/consultants, who was born and raised in Brazil, shares his thoughts on many aspects of understanding and why it matters to sending people home alive and well at the end of the day. He shares his journey seeking understanding and explains the difference, in his terms of art, between “square feet” and “cubic feet” of understanding.

Read More »

A Little Doubt

Doubt is a feeling of uncertainty; a lack of conviction. Feel unsure, you’ll be reluctant to commit and take action. Thinking that sounds like a bad thing, but it that really true – for safety?

Read More »

Owning Safety

This month Paul steps aside so that Gary Rivenes, one of our senior teacher/consultants, can share his thoughts on the responsibility of leaders to own safety — theirs and that of those who work for them. Gary makes the case that owning safety is critical to getting great safety performance but that owning it, without acting on it, is not enough.

Read More »

A Reset

This month Paul takes a moment to hit the reset button when it comes to running effective safety meetings, and revisits the simple approach of asking the right questions to help you make the most of yours.

Read More »

Recognizing Hazards

This month Paul does a deep dive into understanding hazards — what can hurt us – and hazard recognition. Actually, that is not exactly correct, he does a deep dive into understanding the failure to recognize hazards and getting to the truth about what really happened. As long as I have known him, Paul has had a fascination of trying to understand what really happened when things go wrong. He puts the “axe of truth” to the reported findings. He has done Root Cause of Root Cause investigations analyzing the findings of reports in his organization and those in the public domains. Whatever your role in your organization, understanding what he shares this month can make a difference sending people home alive and well at the end of the day.

Read More »

Knowing And Understanding

There’s a world of difference between knowing something and understanding it. In this edition of the Flash, Paul gives some insight as to how we come to understand, as well as what might be done with that important knowledge.

Read More »

The More Things Change

This summer Paul has locked himself in his hut, affectionately known as “The Cave”, working on the Second Edition of Alive And Well At The End Of The Day. Last week Paul finished the task and has reemerged from The Cave. This month he shares some of what he was thinking about while writing. He reflects on making change happen, accountability and culture while discussing recent headlines. He’s included some insight into the writing process as well.

Read More »

Hazards, Everywhere

In this month’s edition of the Flash, Paul lends some advice on where to look for hazards and some perspective about the environment around us.

Read More »

A Safety Ambassador

This month Paul examines influence and influencers. He separates the current trend of self-proclaimed influencers from the real influencers. Especially those who make a difference in industrial organizations sending people home alive and well at the end of the day. He ends up focusing on one particular person who’s influence, even though he does not blow the whistle, has made a huge difference. You will want to know about this Safety Ambassador.

Read More »

Performance Feedback

In this month’s Newsflash Paul discusses performance feedback – good and bad – and the important role good and honest coaching plays in sending everyone home safe.

Read More »
en_USEnglish
Scroll to Top